Review – Elf Essential Eyelid Primer in Sheer (with swatches)

20150409_120918

Hey Guys,

So I am back with yet another review. Today I am going to review my favorite primer of all time Elf Essential Eyelid Primer. I have been using it for two years now in the shade Sheer. One tube lasted me an entire year. I have used high end products such as UD primer potion, Benefit stay don’t stray primer and while these primers were awesome, the price was an issue.

I did not want to splurge so much on an eye primer when I could spend it on a nice lipstick or something. So I stumbled upon this primer. It only cost me like $1.99.

I am so amazed by this product. It’s 1/4th the price of what I paid for my previous  primers and yet it does the same job. It keeps my eyeshadow put for 12 hrs. I don’t keep my makeup on longer than that so I can’t say if it works for more than 12 hrs. The best part is ELF is cruelty-free.

Now this primer is a multi-tasker. First, I have some lines under my eyes so I apply a little bit under my eyes before I apply foundation or concealer. Second, I apply eye liner on my water line and I always had an issue of my eyeliner smudging and settling on my fine lines, so I bring it slightly above my undereye area just to keep my eyeliner intact.

ELF’s description of the product :

  • Preps your eyelids for smoother, longer-lasting, crease-proof
  • The ultra sheer color works to increase eye color longevity 

Directions: Apply a thin coat to the eyelid and blend in. Allow formula to dry before applying eyeshadow.

Safe gentle formula

20150409_120930

20150426_21373420150426_213805

My Opinion:

If you look at the pictures above properly you can see that the primer leaves a somewhat whitish cast when blended so it’s not completely clear. The texture is quite creamy so it’s easier to blend in.

Pros:

  • Very Affordable
  • Easy to blend
  • Long Lasting
  • Crease-proof
  • Multi-tasker (keeps your eyeliner from smudging,increase longevity of your liner and prevents foundation and concealer from creasing in your under eye area)
  • Cruelty-free
  • Makes your eyeshadow more vibrant and makes them pop.
  • Hygienic Packaging (Classic doe-foot applicator tube)
  • Makes eyelids nice and smooth
  • Evens out eyeshadow color
  • No irritating fragrance

Cons:

  • Not enough coverage
  • Product sets in real quick, so you have to rush through blending

So that is it, you guys. I recommend this product if you’re in search for a cheap eye primer.

Have you tried it yet?

Leave a Reply

