Review – Makeup Revolution Redemption Palette Iconic 1 (with swatches)

2015-07-11 01.53.24

Hello my loves,

I want to talk about one of most underrated drugstore brand; Makeup Revolution. They have the most affordable products yet the quality is on fleek every time. They have amazing single eye shadows that are loaded with product for just $1.00. The Iconic 1 palette was my first purchase from Makeup Revolution. I got it because it’s a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Palette. Let’s move on to the swatches:

2015-07-11 01.54.02

2015-07-11 02.05.43

2015-07-11 02.06.20

(This color payoff was from one stroke, I didn’t use any concealers or primers underneath)

The packaging is pretty simple, it came with an eyeshadow applicator which I usually throw away but it can be used to pack on some of the less pigmented colors. The packaging doesn’t feel sturdy enough for travelling, but I usually keep it in my handbag when I am going somewhere and it was fine. I have dropped it a couple of times because I am clumsy like that, and there are a few cracks.

The matte eye shadows has to be layered on to get a true color payoff but the shimmery colors are ah-may-zing! I have tried to apply some of the glitter loaded eye shadows with a flat eye shadow brush but I think they look more metallic and pigmented when I apply them with the eye shadow applicator or with my fingers. I haven’t faced any fall out problems yet because I apply these eye shadows with a light hand.

Without primer, these will crease like a mofo but they last a good 4-5 hrs without fading.
With primer, the colors stayed put for a 8-9 hrs, after that I took off my makeup but I am sure they can last much longer.
I apply my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer as my eyelid primer when I am applying these shadows because they look much more vibrant that way.

Pros:

  • Affordable
  • No fall out problem if applied with a light hand
  • Long lasting when applied with a primer underneath
  • An affordable dupe for the Naked palette
  • Super metallic when applied with a base underneath
  • Extremely pigmented when applied with an applicator or fingers
  • Majority of the eye shadows give a good color payoff from just one stroke
  • Comes with an eye shadow applicator

Cons:

  • The packaging isn’t travel friendly
  • The black eyeshadow (Shade-11) is quite chalky

I can’t really complain about the flaws because the price is so amazing. This palette cost me about $4.00 whereas the Naked palette is $52.00 if I am not wrong, so obviously the eyeshadows are not AS buttery but they are still very pigmented. I honestly love Makeup Revolution, if you are on a budget I highly recommend this brand.

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed this review, if you did please like and share it. Please support my blog by hitting the follow button. If you have any questions or if you’ve used this product, comment down below.

Leave a Reply

